Mary & Joseph Retreat Center

Raffle Tickets
5300 Crest Road, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275
Main
(310) 377-4867
Fax
(310) 541-1176
Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed  Ext. 258 Email
Conference Coordinator
Marlene Velazquez  
Ext. 234Email
Hospitality Coordinator 


Upcoming Retreats, Programs & Events

Ongoing Programs ~ Spring 2019:

Women’s Spiritual Friendship Circle
Second Saturday of each month through June 2019  10am - 12pm
Centering Prayer Group  -  Greg Johnson & Herb Kaighan
Second & Fourth Wednesdays each month, 7:30 - 9pm
Grief Support Group  ~  Grieving Gracefully: When Less is Not More
Willow List, MA, Psych
Series of 4 Support Group Meetings on Wednesdays;
February 6, 13, 20 & 27, 2019  4pm to 6pm
Caregiver Support Group
First Tuesday of each month,  6pm to 7:30pm
Presented by the USC Family Caregiver Support Center in collaboration with Mary & Joseph Retreat Center.
Peace & Comfort ~ The Art of the Quilt  -  Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
Tuesday evening, 7-9pm
Dinner & A Movie  -  Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
Thursday, February 7 and May 2, 2019
Appetizers at 6pm; Dinner at 6:30pm; Movie at 7:30pm
Wednesday Readers Book Club       Sydne Yanko-Jongbloed
2nd Wednesday of each month at 5:00 pm

Retreats & Programs ~ Fall 2018:

November:
Advent: God Comes! Comes! Ever Comes!  Sr. Edith Prendergast, RSC
Saturday, November 17, 9am to 3pm  
(Relieve Me of) The Bondage of Self      John McAndrew, MA, MDiv
7:30pm Friday, November 30 to 1:30pm Sunday, December 2
December:
In The Footsteps of St. Thérèse: How To Be Single But Not Alone    
Teresita “Terri” Ong

Saturday, December 1, 9am to 3pm  
Victorian Christmas Tea & Carols
Sunday, December 2  Tea 2pm; Concert 3pm 
12 th Annual Nativity Exhibit: A Christmas Star     Ellen Mintz
Sunday, December 2 to Friday, December 21
A Silent, Contemplative Advent Retreat with James Finley, PhD  
Childlike Acceptance: Learning to Listen and Cultivating a Compassionate Heart as Three Paths to Heaven 
7:00pm Friday, December 7 to 1:30pm Sunday, December 9
Las Posadas    Marlene Velazquez
Domingo 16 de Diciembre,  4:00 to 6:00pm
Sunday, December 16, 4:00 to 6:00pm

Retreats & Programs ~ Spring 2019:

January:
Give Up Worrying in the New Year    Gary Zimak
7:00pm Friday, January 25 to 1:30pm Sunday, January 27, 2019
Journey Through Grief     Sr. Laura Gormley, SSL
Saturday, January 26, 9am to 3pm


February:
Valentine’s Day Couples Dinner & Celebration    Rev. Jim Clarke, PhD, Director of Evangelization, LA Archdiocese
Thursday, February 14,  5pm to 8pm
5-Day Silent, Directed Retreat     
Spiritual Directors:  Sr. Pascazia Kinkuhaire, DMJ; Sue Ballotti; Fr. Joseph Miller, SVD
6:30 pm Sunday, February 17 to 1:30 pm Friday, February 22, 2019
How Social Media Can Accompany You and Your Catholic Community On the Lenten Journey
Sherry Hayes-Peirce, CIO, Church Social Tips
Thursday, February 21, 10am to 12pm
Women In Recovery Weekend:  Happy, Joyous & Free!     John McAndrew, MA, MDiv
7:00pm Friday, February 22 to 1:30pm Sunday, February 24, 2019
A Pilgrim’s Journey through Lent      Annie O’Neil, Director & Producer
Saturday, Feb 23,  10am to 3pm
March:
A Lenten Morning of Ignatian Prayer     Paulette Cerutti, MA
Saturday, March 9, 9am to 12pm
St. Patrick’s Day Celebration  ~  Sunday, March 10,  4:30 to 9:30pm
Make Room!     Sue Ballotti & Ellen Mintz
Saturday, March 16, 9am to 3:30pm

12 Steps to Spiritual Awakening      Herb Kaighan, Spiritual Director
Saturday, March 23, 1 to 5pm
April:
The 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit ~ Drumming and Praise      Lucia Galante Johnson, MS FHD        
Saturday, April 6, 9am to 12pm
Practicing Presence: Journeying Inward Through the Labyrinth 
(*A Veriditas Qualifying Workshop)

Maggie Perrone, RN, MA
Friday, April 12, 9:30am to 3:30pm  
*This is a qualifying prerequisite for the Veriditas Facilitator Training offered below.
Facilitator Training with Veriditas
Saturday, April 13, 9am to 5pm and Sunday, April 14, 9am to 5pm
Easter Sunday Brunch
Sunday, April 21, 10am to 12:30pm
May :
Praying with Beads     Diane Wood, MA, CHC, FDN-P
Saturday, May 4, 9am to 12:30pmCombine the craft of making fine jewelry with the spiritual exercise of prayer.
Art as Prayer ~ An Exhibition of Paintings by Angelica Sotiriou Rausch
Opening Reception 7:00 to 9:00 pm on Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Exhibit Tuesday, May 7 through Wednesday, May 15  ~ Call for hours.
Mother’s Day Champagne Brunch
Sunday, May 12, 10am to 12:30pm
June:
When One Door Closes: A Day of Recollection for People in Transition
John McAndrew, MA, MDiv

Saturday, June 8,  8:30am to 4:00pm
Conscious Contact: 10th & 11th Step Reflections for People in Recovery  John McAndrew, MA, MDiv
Saturday, June 8, 5:30 to 9pm
Healing Workplace Conflicts      
Pamela Davidson, PhD & Father Thomas Kelly (USAF Ret.) 
Saturday, June 15, 9am to 4pm
Along the Way: A Pilgrim Walk     Sue Ballotti
Saturday, June 29, 7am to 1pm
August:
8-Day Silent, Guided Directed* Retreat
6:30 pm Sunday, August 4 to 1:30 pm Sunday, August 11, 2019
Summer Celebration 2019   Mass ♪ Reception ♪ Concert ♪ Dinner
Save the Date ~ Sunday, August 18,  4 to 8pm
Annual Opportunity Drawing  Sunday,  August 18, 2019
 
If you have any questions or concerns, please don’t hesitate to call Marlene Velazquez at (310) 377-4867 Ext. 234 or you can e-mail to Marlene .
Return to Homepage